EE-YA-GI – Hyeseon Hong Jazz Orchestra with Rich Perry and Ingrid Jensen


SKU: M1053 Category: Tags: ,


Outstanding, unique, though provoking large ensemble jazz with special guests!

Featuring acclaimed jazz artists, Rich Perry and Ingrid Jensen, the Hyeseon Hong Jazz Orchestra is an 18-piece band featuring Hyeseon’s original jazz compositions drawing inspiration from her rich Korean musical heritage. The classical rhythms and sounds from traditional Korean music are interwoven with a modern big band sensibility creating a unique sound.

Ms. Hong, who is originally from Seoul, South Korea, has been working in both NYC and Asia for the past 15 years as a band leader and composer in a wide range of orchestration settings. Her band which has been performing throughout New York for the past several years under her leadership, brought their talent to Bunker Studios in Brooklyn to lay down her original sounding music.

“EE-YA-GI” (or “stories” interpreted) is Ms. Hong’s debut big band album featuring radiant sonic spaces brimming with energy and colorful vitality. Rich Perry and Ingrid Jensen are featured soloists throughout the album, with specially featured roles on “Boat Song” and “Love Song” respectively. Filling the rest of the ranks of the group with some of the busiest big band players on the NYC jazz scene today, EE-YA-GI really delivers the goods!

Composer and director:  Hyeseon Hong

Saxes:  Ben Kono (alto, soprano, ute), Matt Vashlishan (alto, EWI, ute), Rich Perry (tenor),
Jeremy Powell (tenor, clariet), Andrew Hadro (Bari, bs clarinet)

Trumpets: Augie Haas, Ingrid Jensen, Jason Wiseman, Colin Brigstocke

Trombones: Ron Wilkens, Daniel Linden, Ric Becker, Becca Patterson

Rhythm: Matt Panayides (guitar), Broc Hempel (piano), John Lenis (bass), Mark Ferber (drums)

Vocalists:  EJ Park and Subin Park (opening vocals on “Boat Song”)