Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs: Music of Adams, Bach, Beaser, Bernstein, Grantham, Mackey, Zare – Columbus State University Wind Ensemble, Jamie Nix, Conductor


SKU: 704 Category:


Fanfare for Full Fathom Five (John Mackey)
Mare Tranquilitatis (Roger Zare)
Sea Blue Circuitry (Mason Bates)
Manhattan Roll (Robert Beaser)

…from the vibrantly articulated triplets in the trumpets, soaring horn lines, and brash pedal points in the low brass (doubled colorfully by the organ) of the Mackey tune, to the joyful exuberance of the Adams, to the pure Bernstein: a little Bach, a little swing; something high-brow, something down home, to the inclusion of four incredible world premiere recordings!…. this diverse, solid offering is superb!

It will appear to the wind band fan and should have the additional interest of music students everywhere.

The CSU Wind Ensemble is comprised of the top music majors at the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University in Georgia, performing chamber and large ensemble repertoire spanning 500 years. Through collaborations with world-class performing artists and the performance of new works by highly regarded composers, the CSU Wind Ensemble has distinguished itself as a leader among university ensembles. Recent performances include the 2015 CBDNA National Conference, the 2012 CBDNA/NBA Southern Division Conference, and the 2012 GMEA Conference.

Dr. Jamie L. Nix is director of wind ensemble activities, professor of music, and holds the Hal J. Gibson Distinguished Chair in Conducting at Columbus State University’s Schwob School of Music. Appointed in 2010, Professor Nix conducts the CSU Wind Ensemble and Wind Orchestra.

Under the direction of Dr. Nix, the nationally acclaimed CSU Wind Ensemble has performed at the 2015 CBDNA National Convention, 2012 CBDNA Southern Division Conference, and the 2012 Georgia Music Educators Association State Conference. Nix has conducted professionally at regional, national, and international conferences, festivals, and all-state band events. In 2016 Nix was elected into the prestigious American Bandmasters Association.