Certain Relationships – Art Lillard’s Heavenly Big Band

Certain Relationships – Art Lillard’s Heavenly Big Band
Catalog number: 646


01 Evidence/Just You, Just Me
02 Carolina Stout
03 Heavenly
04 Happy Blues
05 Just Friends
06 You Bluesed Me
07 Swing Trane
08 Girl From Ipanema
09 God Bless The Child
10 Eleanor's Place
11 Brusheeze
12 Let's Get Lost
13 Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
14 Boogie Woogie Stomp
15 Pennies From Heaven

Original, swinging, fun big-band tunes! Staying true to what it’s all about, NYC-based Art Lillard brings his big band back for a very nice outing and a wonderful, spirit-soaring listen. Among the current wave of big bands on the scene today, Art Lillard’s Heavenly Big Band is one of only a handful playing brand-new music that’s just as tuneful and fun to dance to as the music we know as “bigband standards,” and just as exciting as those songs were when they first became hits in the ’30s and ’40s. The band includes, among others, pianist Ted Kooshian, trumpeter Mark McGowan, and vocalists Pete McGuinness, Andrea Wolper, Mary Foster Conklin, Hilary Gardner, and Dominique Eade. The ensemble, ranging from 13 to 16 players, features flutes along with the more traditional saxophones and brass. This mix gives the band its unique, rich, bright signature sound.

Featured Artist
Art Lillard: drums, leader

Track Listing
Evidence/Just You, Just Me • Carolina Shout • Heavenly • Happy Blues • Just Friends • You Bluesed Me • Swing Trane • The Girl from Ipanema • God Bless the Child • Eleanor’s Place • Brusheeze • Let’s Get Lost • Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise • Boogie Woogie Stomp • Pennies from Heaven

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Art