Comin’ At Ya – The Andy Simpkins Quintet

Comin’ At Ya – The Andy Simpkins Quintet
Catalog number: M1002


> 01 You're Gonna Hear from Me
comp: Dory Previn, Andre Previn
> 02 Blue Daniel
comp: Frank Rosolino
> 03 Half Nelson
comp: Miles Davis
> 04 Mood Indigo
comp: Edward Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Albany Bigard
> 05 Tune Up
comp: Miles Davis
> 06 Scotch and Water
comp: Joe Zawinul
> 07 Seven Steps to Heaven
comp: Victor Feldman, Miles Davis
> 08 Drop Me Off in Harlem
comp: Edward Duke Ellington, Nick Kenny
> 09 My Heart Stood Still
comp: Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
> 10 Down Here on the Ground
comp: Lalo Schifrin, Gale Garnett
> 11 Andy's Hallucination
comp: Andy Simpkins
> 12 South of the Border
comp: Jimmy Kennedy, Michael Carr

A member of the acclaimed Three Sounds and nine-year veteran with Sarah Vaughan, Simpkins is showcased here with his quintet-saxophonist Pete Christlieb, valve-trombone phenom Mike Fahn, pianist Frank Collett and drummer Ralph Penland. The disc includes such favorites as Scotch and Water, Mood Indigo and Half Nelson, as well as nine other jazz classics.

[contact-form-7 id="15428" title="Contact form 1"]