Pilgrimage – Dez Cordas

Pilgrimage – Dez Cordas
Catalog number: 657


01 Suite for String Bass and Guitar: Mvt. I
comp: Alec Wilder
02 Suite for String Bass and Guitar: Mvt. II
03 Suite for String Bass and Guitar: Mvt. III
04 Suite for String Bass and Guitar: Mvt. IV
05 Suite for String Bass and Guitar: Mvt. V
06 Song and Dance Man
comp: Dick Goodwin
07 Of Gossamer Webs
comp: Andrew Walters
08 Pilgrimage
comp: James Crowley
09 La Belle et La Bete
comp: Greg Caffrey
10 Waxwing: Mvt. 1. Prelude
comp: John Orfe
11 Waxwing: Mvt. 2. Arioso
12 Five Dances: Mvt. I
comp: Annette Kruisbrink
13 Five Dances: Mvt. II
14 Five Dances: Mvt. III
15 Five Dances: Mvt. IV
16 Five Dances: Mvt. V

A brilliant, acclaimed double bassist presents a program of new works for the instrument! Matthew Slotkin is an acclaimed performer, teacher, and scholar, and has appeared in leading venues on six continents. His commitment to contemporary music has resulted in premieres of numerous works. Craig Butterfield is Associate Professor of Double Bass and Jazz Studies at the University of South Carolina, where he directs one of the largest double bass programs in the Southeast.

Featured Artists
Dez Cordas
Craig Butterfield: double bass
Matthew Slotkin: guitar

Track Listing
WILDER: Suite for string bass and guitar • GOODWIN: Song and Dance Man • WALTERS: Of Gossamer Webs • CROWLEY: Pilgrimage • CAFFREY: La Belle et La Bête • ORFE: Waxwing • KRUISBRINK: Five Dances

Press Quote
“Craig Butterfield is nothing short of magnificent … His tone is gorgeous, his intonation rock-solid, and his phrasing expressive and flexible.” — American Record Guide

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit “Pilgrimage"