Ancient Airs for Organ and Brass – Washington Symphonic Brass

Ancient Airs for Organ and Brass – Washington Symphonic Brass
Catalog number: 250


01 Ancient Airs and Dances - I. Gagliard
comp: Ottorino Respighi
02 Ancient Airs and Dances - II. Aire di corte
03 Ancient Airs and Dances - III. Balletto detto II Conte Orlando
04 Ancient Airs and Dances - IV. Passacaglia
05 Ancient Airs and Dances - V. Laura soave Balletto con Gagliarda, Saltarello e Canario
06 Ancient Airs and Dances - VI. Siciliana
07 Ancient Airs and Dances - VII. Passo mezzo e Mascherada
08 Antiphon: Karitas Habunday
comp: Hildegard Von Bingen
09 Como poden per sas culpas
comp: Santa Maria
10 Christmas Oratorio, BMV 248 - I. Jauchzet, Frohlocket!
comp: Johann Sebastian Bach
11 Christmas Oratorio, BMV 248 - II. Nun mogt ihr stolzen Feide schreken
12 Christmas Oratorio, BMV 248 - III. Nun seid wohl gerochen
13 Greensleeves
comp: trad.
14 Suite de ballets
comp: Michael Praetorius
15 The Wexford Carol
comp: trad.
16 Il est Ne (He is Born)
comp: trad.

Like most brass recordings, Ancient Airs for Brass & Organ contains no works originally done for modern brass instruments. What is unusual about this collection is that none of these works (except the Bach) were written for ANY specific instrument.

The selections convey prominently a spirit of joy and celebration; repertoire from previous centuries that inspires and pleases.

Learn more about the Washington Symphonic Brass.

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Ancient