The Impromptu Session – Wade Mikkola Quartet

The Impromptu Session – Wade Mikkola Quartet
Catalog number: C7015


> 01 Blues Impromptu
comp: Wade Mikkola
> 02 Vicious Circle
comp: Wade Mikkola
> 03 Our Love is Here to Stay
comp: Ira Gershwin
> 04 Prelude To a Kiss
comp: Edward Duke Ellington
> 05 The End of a Love Affair
comp: Edward Redding
> 06 MIstical
comp: Wade Mikkola
> 07 Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
comp: Otto Harbach
> 08 The City Feels Empty Without You
comp: Wade Mikkola
> 09 Soon
comp: Ira Gershwin

“The Impromptu Session”, Wade Mikkola’s vision to capture the organ quartet sounds of the ’60s, came to fruition when the opportunity arose to reunite Mikkola with his old friend and musical collaborator, American drumming sensation Joe Farnsworth who was on a European tour with sax legend Pharoah Sanders’. Joined by one of the most talented sax players in Finland, Jussi Kannaste, and the impressively soulful Greek organist, George Kontrafouris, the group succeeds in a brilliant fashion. Original compositions and inventive arrangements of ‘the old chestnuts’ are the ingredients for this ‘tasty’ organ quartet – overall a very ‘hip’, satisfying set of music!

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit The

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message