Contemporaries – Northwestern University Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Contemporaries – Northwestern University Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Catalog number: 414


01 Short Ride in a Fast Machine
comp: John Adams
02 Theme and Variations, Op. 43a
comp: Arnold Schoenberg
03 O Magnum Mysterium
comp: Morten Lauridsen
04 Symphony In B Flat - Mvt. 1. Moderately fast, with vigor
comp: Paul Hindemith
05 Symphony In B Flat - Mvt. 2. Andantino grazioso
06 Symphony In B Flat - Mvt. 3. Fugue
07 Emblems
comp: Aaron Copland

A scintillating program of music for wind ensemble, including both original works and transcriptions. The John Adams and Morten Lauridsen works are transcribed by Lawrence T.Odom and H. Robert Reynolds, respectively. This is the third recording in a series from Northwestern University. Chicago’s Northwestern University, founded in 1850, is one of America’s most prestigious private research universities, and its School of Music is noted in several specialties, including wind ensemble performance. The Symphonic Wind Ensemble is conducted by Mallory Thompson, director of bands at Northwestern. She has made several recordings with Summit Records. Ms. Thompson teaches conducting at Northwestern, and has frequently guest conducted at Aspen and Interlochen, and with the Dallas Wind Symphony and the U.S. Army Band.

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Contemporaries