Stan Kenton Christmas Carols – Boston Brass with Brass All Stars Big Band

Stan Kenton Christmas Carols – Boston Brass with Brass All Stars Big Band
Catalog number: 464


01 Good King Wenceslas
02 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
03 We Three Kings of Orient Are
04 Once In Royal David's City
05 The Holly and the Ivy
06 Greensleeves
07 O Tannenbaum
08 Angels We Have Heard on High
09 O Holy Night
10 The Twelve Days of Christmas
11 Adeste Fideles
12 Christmas Medley
13 Motown Jingle Bells

Merry Stan Kenton Christmas! This unique collection of holiday cheer performed by the Boston Brass features the great Christmas charts from the Kenton Band plus two new ones by JD Shaw and Sam Pilafian. While these great arrangements are a big part of Stan Kenton Christmas Carols, they are only part of the story. The other part is the collection of players known as the Brass All-Stars Big Band. The brass quintet Boston Brass, one of the busiest and best known quintets working today, is the foundation for this extended group, and they are the ones that came up with the idea of doing a new recording of Kenton’s music. If you look at the names of the players, you will see amongst them many current or former members of Canadian Brass and Empire Brass. While there have been recordings made up of brass sections from major symphony orchestras, this one may be a first for the brass quintet world!

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Boston