Treasures for Trumpet – Robert Sullivan

Treasures for Trumpet – Robert Sullivan
Catalog number: 319


01 Cantabile et Scherzetto
comp: Phillipe Gaubert
02 Impromptu
comp: Jacques-Francois Ibert
03 Air de Bravoure
comp: Andre Jolivet
04 Prelude - Mvt. I
comp: George Gershwin
05 Prelude - Mvt. II
06 Prelude - Mvt. III
07 Simple Song from Mass
comp: Leonard Bernstein
08 Cappriccio
comp: Jack Gallagher
09 Aria et Scherzo - Mvt. 1. Aria
comp: Alexander Arutiunian
10 Aria et Scherzo - Mvt. 2. Scherzo
11 Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14
comp: Sergei Rachmaninoff
12 Russian Dance, Op. 32
comp: Oskar Bohme
13 Klange der Heimat
comp: Johann Strauss, Jr.
14 Che Gelida Manina
comp: Giacomo Puccini
15 Nessun Dorma
comp: Giacomo Puccini
16 Irish Poem - Mvt. 1. Leprachaun
comp: trad.
17 Irish Poem - Mvt. 2. Not Rose, Nor Gem
18 Irish Poem - Mvt. 3. Slane
19 Irish Poem - Mvt. 4. Danny Boy

Robert Sullivan, associate principal trumpet of the New York Philharmonic, has a sweet tone and a sense of ease that allows these works to sound natural, rather than like tests of ability. All of the pieces are tuneful and enjoyable, but I am especially touched by Bernstein’s ‘Simple Song’, Gallagher’s ‘Capriccio’, Rachmaninoff’s Vocalise, Bohme’s ‘Russian Dance’ and the Puccini arias. – Kilpatrick, ARG

Perhaps no other brass instrument has seen as intense an evolution of its possibilities as the trumpet. This CD strives to represent a wide variety of the characters available to the trumpeter.

Many of the works are new arrangements or adaptations, and although most are infrequently heard, they are all treasures in the trumpet repertoire.

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Treasures