Rustiques – Ocotillo Winds

Rustiques – Ocotillo Winds
Catalog number: 466


01 Rustiques - Mvt. 1. Pastorale
comp: Joseph Canteloube
02 Rustiques - Mvt. 2. Reverie
03 Rustiques - Mvt. 3. Rondeau a la francaise
04 Suite Pour Trio D'anches - Mvt. 1. Dialogue
comp: Alexandre Tansman
05 Suite Pour Trio D'anches - Mvt. 2. Scherzino
06 Suite Pour Trio D'anches - Mvt. 3. Aria
07 Suite Pour Trio D'anches - Mvt. 4. Finale
08 Divertissement - Mvt. 1. Overture
comp: Erwin Schulhoff
09 Divertissement - Mvt. 2. Burlesca
10 Divertissement - Mvt. 3. Romanzero
11 Divertissement - Mvt. 4. Charleston
12 Divertissement - Mvt. 5. Tema con Variazioni
13 Divertissement - Mvt. 6. Florida
14 Divertissement - Mvt. 7. Rondino-Finale
15 Trio - Mvt. 1. Anime
comp: Heitor Villa-Lobos
16 Trio - Mvt. 2. Languissement
17 Trio - Mvt. 3. Vif

If music, like wine, is evaluated in terms of vintages, then 1927 was a very good year for the reed trio, typically comprised of an oboe, a clarinet, and a bassoon. 1927 heralded the creation in Paris of an elite ensemble with three of the city’s most eminent players: oboist Myrtil Morel, clarinetist Pierre Lefebvre, and the group¯s founder, bassoonist Fernand Oubradous. Also that year and in the same city, Max Eschig published Heitor Villa-Lobos’ daring Trio for oboe, clarinet and bassoon, and in Prague the radically eclectic Ervin Schulhoff completed his Divertissement for the same instrumental combination. Alexander Tansman’s Suite pour trio d’anches of 1949 is influenced by Stravinsky. Of all the works on the present disc, it is Rustiques by Joseph Canteloube that resonates most with wind players to this day. Known primarily for his Chants d’Auvergne, Canteloube again mined old French chansons and dances for inspiration, but this time he wove together tunes from all across the country.

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Ocotillo