Pura Vida – Peter Ellefson

Pura Vida – Peter Ellefson
Catalog number: 543


01 Doolallynastics
comp: Brian Lynn
02 Romance, Op. 2 I
comp: Axel Jorgensen
03 Concerto for Trombone - Mvt. 1. Allegro con brio; Allegro
comp: Jim Pugh
04 Concerto for Trombone - Mvt. 2. Slow
05 Concerto for Trombone - Mvt. 3. Allegro furioso
06 Dein blaues Auge, Op. 59, No. 8
comp: Johannes Brahms
07 Sonntag, Op. 47, No. 3
comp: Johannes Brahms
08 Meine Liebe ist grun, Op. 63, No. 5
comp: Johannes Brahms
09 Der Gang zum Liebchen, Op. 48, No. 1
comp: Johannes Brahms
10 O wust' ich doch den Weg, Op. 63, No. 8
comp: Johannes Brahms
11 Sonata for Trombone and Piano - Mvt. 1. Allegro con brio
comp: Derek Bourgeois
12 Sonata for Trombone and Piano - Mvt. 2, Allegro scherzando
13 Sonata for Trombone and Piano - Mvt. 3. Adagio cantabile
14 Sonata for Trombone and Piano - Mvt. 4. Allegro con fuoco
15 The Blue Bells of Scotland
comp: Arthur Pryor

Peter Ellefson’ s debut recording featuring rarely recorded works by Derek Bourgeois, Jim Pugh and Brian Lynn. ‘Pura Vida’ also includes works by Brahms, J’rgensen and Pryor. Ellefson is one of the busiest trombonists working today and this recording showcases both his acrobatic flair and sensitive musicality.

An orchestral veteran, Ellefson teaches at such prestigious universities as Indiana University and Northwestern University and regularly plays with such orchestra as the Chicago Symphony and New York Philharmonic. This CD has incredible virtuosic elements as well as simple, wonderful melodies!

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Pura