Circles – Michael Hackett

Circles – Michael Hackett
Catalog number: 409


01 My Good Friend
comp: Michael Hackett
02 Blues To John
comp: Jim Marentic
03 Heidi's Song
comp: Michael Hackett
04 Invitation
comp: Bronislaw Kaper, Paul Francis Webster
05 Even As We Speak
comp: Michael Hackett
06 Circles
comp: Michael Hackett
07 Unrequited
comp: Michael Hackett
08 Never Let Me Go
comp: Jay Livingston, Ray Evans

If you haven’t lived it won’t come out of your horn! There are a lot of fine young musicians on today’s scene. However, to my ears the most meaningful music is often made by people who are under-exposed and unrecorded until mid-career. Mike Hackett has been playing and living jazz for over two decades. He has accumu-lated musical and life experiences that give him something to say and a personal voice with which to say it. If you haven’t heard Mike Hackett until now you will find a beautiful combination of soul, lyricism, and story telling in his music. Music is communication and that is what Michael does.
– Pat Harbison

Circles is a brilliant first outing with something for every listener. Especially exciting are the musical twists, turns, and surprises one encounters throughout this wonderful recording… -David Baker (from the liner notes)

Here is a review from Jazz

Here are a few reviews from ALLABOUTJAZZ.COM:

  • review #1
  • review #2
  • review #3

  • If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Michael