Utaki: The Sacred Grove – Matthew van Emmerik

Utaki: The Sacred Grove – Matthew van Emmerik
Catalog number: 539


01 Sonatensatz
comp: Johannes Brahms
02 Utaki, the Sacred Grove
comp: Mike Fitzpatrick
03 Capriccio - Mvt. 1. Allegro
comp: Janacek
04 Capriccio - Mvt. 2. Adagio
comp: McKimm
05 Capriccio - Mvt. 3. Allegretto
comp: Bruckner
06 Capriccio - Mvt. 4. Andante
07 Concerto for Euphonium - Mvt. 1. Movement 1
08 Concerto for Euphonium - Mvt. 2. Movement 2
09 Concerto for Euphonium - Mvt. 3. Movement
10 Etude
comp: Anton Bruckner

A beautiful, accessible program of brass, strings, winds and of course, euphonium from the Australian Euphonium player Matthew van Emmerik… Matthew van Emmerik was born in Bendigo, Victoria, Australia in 1978. He is the former principal euphonium player with the Central Band of the Royal Air Force – Uxbridge (United Kingdom) and all Royal Australian Navy Bands respectively. He has also held high profile and principal positions with the worlds leading brass bands including: Black Dyke, Fodens, Leyland, Desford Colliery, Brighouse and Rastrick, Dalewool and Kew Band Melbourne.

“INCREDIBLE new CD, outstanding music and playing…tremendous, one of the best Euphonium music CDs I’ve ever heard…’
– Steven Mead, International euphonium virtuoso and soloist

‘…a beautifully performed presentation of a substantial and eclectic program of music…a montage of satisfying musical styles, instrumentations, colors and textures. … high level of artistry and variety of repertoire”
– John Stevens, Internationally renowned composer and conductor

“WONDERFUL music played masterfully! This CD raises the bar to all euphonium CDs on the market!”
– Sérgio Carolina, Principal tuba, Oporto National Orchestra

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Utaki: