Bone Moan: The Trombone Music of David P. Jones – Mark Hetzler

Bone Moan: The Trombone Music of David P. Jones – Mark Hetzler
Catalog number: 621


01 Bone Moan
comp: David P. Jones
02 Ohio River Journal - 1. Red Tailed Hawk
comp: David P. Jones
03 Ohio River Journal - 2. The Hills ff Boone County
04 Ohio River Journal - 3. Latent Storms
05 Ohio River Journal - 4. River Boat
06 Heather Lake
comp: David P. Jones
07 Hannah Y La Luna
comp: David P. Jones
08 Strong Water - 1. Deception Pass
comp: David P. Jones
09 Strong Water - 2. Yakima Canyon Road
10 Strong Water - 3. Neah Bay
11 Strong Water - 4. The George
12 Messalonskee Nocturne
comp: David P. Jones

Bone Moan the intriguing, at times stunning, trombone music of Seattle-based composer David P. Jones is a varied mix for trombone with percussion, string quartet and trombone choir – including a performance with the Pro Arte String Quartet!

This recording covers a lot of ground for trombonists interested in music of varied settings – great for soloists, chamber groups and trombone choirs looking for new, hip music. Some piece descriptors:

BONE MOAN contains harmonies and rhythms related to jazz, reggae and Latin pop…influenced by Stan Kenton’s trombone section. (Bone Moan was a finalist in the 1987 International Trombone Association Composition Competition and was premiered by the Eastman Trombone Choir at the ITA Workshop in Nashville in May, 1987)

OHIO RIVER JOURNAL is a multi percussion piece with majestic harmonies;

STRONG WATER is a strong piece with a connection to the wilderness…organic qualities of the trombone quartet (homogeneity, majesty, power and lyricism)

If you are interested in purchasing an individual track from this cd, visit Bone